Skip to content
Curtin University
Apply now. Find out how
Apply now. Find out how

Curtin University

Curtin University’s commitment to another 20 years in Malaysia is cause for celebration, says vice-chancellor

Miri – 10 May 2019 – The signing of a new 20-year joint venture agreement between Curtin University and Curtin Malaysia in Perth in December last year is cause for celebration as Curtin University Malaysia (Curtin Malaysia) marks its 20th anniversary this year.

“For the last two decades, Curtin Malaysia has delivered quality education to thousands of students across the region and become an important part of Curtin’s international footprint spanning Australia, Singapore, Dubai and Mauritius,” Curtin University vice-chancellor Deborah Terry said at Curtin Malaysia’s 20th Anniversary dinner here recently.

“The extension of this collaboration for another 20 years reaffirms our commitment to further strengthen Australia-Malaysia ties, ensuring Curtin Malaysia continues to support the University to achieve its global objectives,” Professor Terry added.

The formal stakeholder dinner at a leading hotel was attended by over 150 guests from Sarawak and Australia, including dignitaries such as Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud and Toh Puan Hajjah Raghad Kurdi Taib, the Australian High Commissioner to Malaysia Andrew Goldezinowski, and Sarawak Minister of Education, Science and Technological Research Dato Sri Michael Manyin.

Also attending from the parent campus in Perth were Curtin University Chancellor Dr Andrew Crane, Deputy Vice-Chancellor International Professor Seth Kunin, and former Vice-Chancellor Emeritus Professor Dato Lance Twomey, who along with former chancellor the late Harry Perkins AO, was pivotal in the establishment of Curtin Malaysia in 1999.

Among those representing Curtin Malaysia were Pro-Chancellor Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan, Board of Directors Chairman Datu Ose Murang; Management Committee Chairman Datuk Lee Kim Shin, Pro Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Jim Mienczakowski and Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor Professor Beena Giridharan.

The recent anniversary festivities also included a staff gathering, graduation ceremonies for Curtin Malaysia’s largest-ever graduate cohort, and an awards ceremony to reward outstanding graduates and students. Earlier, appreciation dinners in conjunction with the anniversary were also held for school representatives and the media.

A new series of scholarships was also launched in conjunction with the 20th anniversary celebrations to help students from low socio-economic backgrounds access higher education.

“As part of our 20-year anniversary celebrations, Curtin Malaysia has launched a special category of scholarships for our foundation programmes and selected undergraduate programmes,” Professor Terry said.

“These scholarships will support talented students from the region to fulfil their aspirations to further their education and serve as a sign of gratitude for Malaysia’s support for Curtin over the past two decades.”

Curtin Malaysia is the Western Australian university’s oldest and largest international campus and is a partnership between Curtin University and specially formed company Curtin Malaysia Sdn Bhd, jointly owned by the Sarawak State Government and local business people.

For more information on Curtin Malaysia, visit its website (, its Facebook page (CurtinMalaysia), Twitter profile (curtinmalaysia), Instagram (curtinmalaysia), YouTube channel (Curtin Malaysia) or LinkedIn page (Curtin Malaysia). It also has a dedicated website for the 20th Anniversary celebrations at

(L-R) Professor Deborah Terry, Dr Andrew Crane, HE Andrew Goledzinowski, Dato Sri Michael Manyin, Professor Beena Giridharan, Datu Ose Murang and Professor Seth Kunin.

Professor Terry giving her speech.

Former vice-chancellor Emeritus Professor Dato Lance Twomey.

State Education, Science and Technological Research Minister Dato Sri Michael Manyin representing the Chief Minister of Sarawak.

Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin
Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud addressing the dinner guests.

Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak launching the 20th Anniversary celebrations.

Dignitaries pose for a group photo.

Chancellor Dr Andrew Crane giving the vote of thanks.